The How and Why – A Close Reading of Life Just Swallows You Up

One of the nice off-shoots of being shortlisted in the 2016 Saboteur Awards with my pamphlet was the invitation to write about a poem by another shortlisted poet. The Managing Editor of ‘The Missing Slate’, Jacob Silkstone, had the great idea of doing a Saboteur Showcase, which involved writing a response to a poem he sent. All I knew was that the poem was by someone else on the shortlist – the rest was up to me. Here was an excuse to do something for the pleasure of itself – and a chance to test my critical reading.

The poem I wrote a response to was Life Just Swallows You Up by Tania Hershman.You can read my response and Tania’s poem here   The How and Why – Close Reading

What it perhaps has triggered in me (time allowing!) is the wish to do a few more of these close readings – looking at the how and why of a poem – giving my interpretation and reading. It seems a neat way of sharpening one’s own thinking and approach to writing.

 

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

